Docomomo Rehabilitation Award honors worldwide diversity in Modern architecture

Tokyo, 2 September 2021 – Docomomo International has announced the winners of the first Docomomo Rehabilitation Award (DRAW), recognizing outstanding interventions from the past 12 years in Modern architecture. On 1 September 2021, during the awards ceremony held at the 16th Docomomo International Conference in Tokyo/Lisbon, Ana Tostões, Chair of Docomomo International, revealed the 18 winning interventions and the lifetime achievement awards.

Organized in 10 categories, the awards recognize exceptional projects of rehabilitation from all over the world, which respond to the complex and dynamic conditions with which architecture must engage today. “The aim was to reveal how the safeguarding of heritage can be accomplished in different settings and with varied means. The Award has not only highlighted canonical interventions on modern masterpieces, but also the sustainable and low-cost safeguarding of everyday architecture, involving action taken in challenging situations, and engaging communities as agents of change.” stated Tostões.
Thus, the Docomomo Rehabilitation Award amplifies Docomomo International’s role in the documentation and conservation of the Modern legacy, shedding light on its inherited qualities and the importance of its reuse in contemporary life, as a key tool for sustainability at a time of global change.

The jury of the inaugural edition of the Docomomo Rehabilitation Award, composed of Barry Bergdoll (USA), Horacio Torrent (Chile), Scott Robertson (Australia), Uta Pottgiesser (Germany), Yoshiyuki Yamana (Japan), and Ana Tostões (Portugal), nominated the following exemplary interventions in the categories:

Enhanced Masterpieces
Outstanding in-depth interventions in renovating Modern Movement masterpieces, while retaining the principles and character of these landmarks.

  • Neue Nationalgalerie, Berlin, Germany
    David Chipperfield Architects Berlin, 2016-2021
    [Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, 1965-1968]
  • Yoyogi National Gymnasium, Tokyo, Japan
    Tange Associates and Kume Sekkei, 2018-2020
    [Kenzo Tange & Urtec, Tange Laboratory, 1963-1964]

Lasting Heritage
Exemplary practices that consider conservation and maintenance plans as key tools for defying the effects of time.

  •  Sydney Opera House, Sydney, Australia
    Alan Croker, 2017-2020
    [Jørn Utzon and Hall, Todd & Littlemore, 1959-1972]
  • Yale Center for British Art, New Haven, USA
    Peter Inskip, Stephen Gee and Knight Architecture, 2012 / 2008-2016
    [Louis I. Kahn, 1971-1977]

Engaged Societies
Innovative research applied to everyday architecture, such as housing complexes, involving institutional and community engagement.

  • Cité du Lignon, Geneva, Switzerland
    Franz Graf and Giulia Marino, TSAM, 2008-2012
    [Addor & Julliard With Louis Payot, 1963-1971]
  • Serpentine House, Helsinki, Finland
    Kati Salonen & Mona Schalin Architects, 2016-2020
    [Yrjö Lindegren, 1950-1951]

Metamorphosed functions
Exemplary work that safeguards the distinctive identities of modern buildings, while allowing them to be adapted, in use and form, to contemporary needs.

  • Municipal Orphanage Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands
    WDJArchitecten, 2015-2017
    [Aldo Van Eyck, 1955-1960]
  • Yamanashi Press and Broadcasting Center, Kofu, Japan
    Tange Associates, 2015-2016
    [Kenzo Tange & Urtec, 1964-1966]

Educating Practices
Pioneering studies and low budget interventions that have contributed to raising awareness of the need to preserve the modernist legacy in challenging locations and conditions.

  • Aiton Court, Johannesburg, South Africa
    Mayat Hart Architects, 2012-2014
    [Bernard Cooke, W.R and Angus Stewart, 1936-1937]
  • Casa Estudio para Artistas, Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Dirección General de Regeneración Urbana, Buenos Aires, 2017-2018
    [Antonio Bonet, Horacio Vera Barros and Abel López Chas, 1938-1939]

Preserved Vanguards
Restorations that have reinstated the lost innovative features of the avant-garde’s fragile and experimental creations, while enhancing their resilience.

  • Casa O’Gorman, Mexico City, Mexico
    Victor Jimenez, 2012-2013
    [Juan O’Gorman, 1929-1930]
  • Hipódromo de la Zarzuela, Madrid, Spain
    Junquera Arquitectos, 2003-2015
    [Carlos Arniches, Martín Domínguez, Eduardo Torroja, 1935-1941]

Sustained Uses
Exemplary renovations introducing contemporary standards of safety, sustainability, and improved technologies, while retaining the function and identity of buildings.

  • Grand Auditorium of the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation, Lisbon, Portugal
    Teresa Nunes da Ponte, Arquitectura, 2013-2014
    [Alberto Pessoa, Pedro Cid, Ruy Jervis D’athouguia, 1959-1969]
  • Cartiera Burgo, Mantua, Italy
    Massimo Narduzzo and Crea.Re, 2015-2020
    [Pier Luigi Nervi, 1961-1964]

Conservation through Activism
Interventions resulting from the action of individuals or groups that have promoted an awareness of modern heritage, while spreading its concept of social welfare.

  • Isokon and Isokon Gallery, London, England
    Avanti Architects, 2004-2014
    [Wells Coates, 1933-1934]
  • Trenton Bath House and Day Camp Pavilions, New Jersey, USA
    Mills + Schnoering Architects, 2007-2013
    [Louis I. Kahn and Anne Tyng, 1955-1957]

Open House
Practices in the restoration of remarkable modern houses that are now open to public.

  • Le Corbusier’s Apartment-studio, Paris, France
    Fondation Le Corbusier and Chatillon Architectes, 2016-2018
    [Le Corbusier, 1931-1934]
  • Villa Tugendhat, Brno, Czech Republic
    Villa Tugendhat Association, 2010-2012
    [Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, 1929-1930] 

Committed Personality
Exemplary lifetime achievement in promoting the legacy of the Modern Movement.

  • Winfried Brenne
    Waldsiedlung Zehlendorf, Berlin, Germany, 1970s
    [Bruno Taut, 1926-1932]
    Gartenstadt Falkenberg, Berlin, Germany, 1992-2003
    [Bruno Taut, 1913-1916]
    Bauhaus Dessau, Dessau, Germany, 2010-2016
    [Walter Gropius, 1925-1926]
    Meisterhaus Muche-Schlemmer, Dessau, Germany, 1998-2001
    [Walter Gropius, 1925-1926]
    ADGB Bundesschule, Bernau, Germany, 2002-2007
    [Hannes Meyer and Hans Wittwer, 1928-1930]
    Max Liebling House, Tel Aviv, Israel, 2015-2019
    [Dov Karmi, 1936]

Get to know more about the award with this short presentation: DRAW presentation

To watch the ceremony’s presentation, please go to our YouTube Page!